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Division of Fish and Wildlife's Mission: 
The mission of DEC’s Division of Fish and Wildlife is to serve the inter-
ests of current and future generations of New Yorkers by using our 
collective skills, in partnership with the public, to describe, understand, 
manage, and perpetuate a healthy and diverse assemblage of fish, 
wildlife, and ecosystems.

This guide is a summary that is intended for convenience only. For 
complete references, consult the New York State Environmental Con-
servation Law and Volume 6 of the Codes, Rules and Regulations of 
New York State. These are available at: 

www.dec.ny.gov/regulations/regulations.html
�www.assembly.state.ny.us/leg/ (Environmental Conservation Law)

The advertisements contained herein offset the cost of this guide, are pro-
vided for informational purposes only, and do not constitute an endorse-
ment by the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation.

�J.F. Griffin Publishing, LLC is proud to print the official New York 
Hunting & Trapping Regulations summary on post-consumer 
recycled paper.
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PURCHASE A $5 HABITAT & ACCESS STAMP TODAY! 
This year’s Habitat & Access Stamp features 
the popular opossum!  All funds from stamp 
purchases are used for projects aimed at 
conserving fish and wildlife habitat and 
increasing access to public and private lands 
for outdoor recreational activities. 

To make your donation today, go to 
www.dec.ny.gov/permits/47452.html, visit 
your local license issuing agent or call 1-866-
933-2257.

About This Guide
This high-quality guide is offered to you 
by the New York State Department of 
Environmental Conservation through 
its unique partnership with J.F. Griffin 
Publishing, LLC.

The revenue generated through ad sales 
significantly lowers production costs and 
generates savings. These savings translate 
into additional funds for other important 
agency programs.

If you have any feedback or are inter-
ested in advertising, please contact us at 
413.884.1001 or at www.JFGriffin.com

Graphic Design: 
Jon Gulley, Dane Fay, Evelyn Haddad, 

and Chris Sobolowski

Williamstown, MA  |  Birmingham, AL

This guide is also  
available online at

Increased Mallard and Canada 
Goose Opportunities
•	 The mallard bag limit increased to no more than 4 mallards per day, of which 2 may be hens.
•	 Canada goose season length and bag limits increased to 45 days with a bag limit of 3 per

day in the West Central, East Central, Northeast, Lake Champlain, and Hudson Valley Zones.

For more information on waterfowl seasons go to www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/28888.html.

Modernized Turkey Hunting Regulations
•	 Due to advances in shot shell technology, the minimum shot size allowed for turkey hunting

(fall and spring) has been reduced from no smaller than #8 to no smaller than #9 shot. 
•	 May 2023 marked the first regulated spring turkey hunting season in Suffolk County (Wildlife

Management Unit 1C). The new hunting opportunity will continue in May 2024.

Hunter Education: Next Step Courses
The DEC's Hunter Education Program (HEP) is now offering Next Step courses for those who 
have already completed a hunter education, bowhunter education, or trapper education certi-
fication course and want more education and hands-on experience. All Next Step courses are 
free, but registration is required. Please read more about this program on page 28.

Use of Semi-Automatic Rifles for Hunting and 
Firearm Possession, Storage, and Transport
In 2022, New York State adopted new requirements for the purchase and transfer of owner-
ship of semi-automatic rifles and the purchase, possession, storage, and transport of firearms 
and ammunition in New York. At press time, additional legislation is pending that may affect 
these requirements. See www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/hunting.html and gunsafety.ny.gov for more 
information and guidance about how these laws affect hunters and hunting-related activities.

Non-lead Ammunition Rebate Program
The DEC is partnering with researchers to implement a multiyear study to determine the reduc-
tion in eagle deaths resulting from use of non-lead ammunition for deer hunting. Researchers 
are offering a rebate of up to $60 for purchase of certified non-lead ammunition. For more 
information about this program, please refer to page 32.

Reminder: Recent Deer and Bear Hunting 
Opportunities and Requirements Continue 
•	 12- and 13-year-old hunters can hunt deer (not bear) with a firearm or crossbow under the

supervision of a licensed adult hunter in counties that have passed a local law to participate.
Check the DEC website for an updated list of participating counties. 

•	 Holiday Deer Hunt is an extension of the late bow and muzzleloading season for deer in the
Southern Zone from December 26 through January 1. 

•	 Daily hunting hours for deer and bear are 30 minutes before sunrise until 30 minutes after sunset.
•	 Hunters must wear a fluorescent orange/pink hat or vest when hunting deer or bear with a

firearm. See page 18 for details. 
•	 An antlerless-only deer season will occur from Sept. 9–17, 2023, with firearms, crossbows, and 

vertical bows allowed in WMUs 3M, 3R, 8A, 8F, 8G, 8J, 8N, 9A, and 9F, and vertical bows in WMUs 
1C, 3S, 4J, and 8C. Hunters may only use DMPs and DMAP tags during this early antlerless season. 

Highlights of Changes for 2023–2024
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Important Numbers

Region Offices Wildlife Law 
Enforcement Hunter Ed Forest 

Rangers

1
Stony Brook University 
50 Circle Rd.  
Stony Brook, NY 11790-3409

(631) 444-0310 (631) 444-0250 (631) 444-0255 (631) 444-0291

2

1 Hunters Pt. Plaza 
47-40 21st St. 
Long Island City, NY
11101-5407

(718) 482-4922 (718) 482-4885 (631) 444-0255 (631) 444-0291

3 21 South Putt Corners Rd.  
New Paltz, NY 12561 (845) 256-3098 (845) 256-3013 (845) 256-3063 (845) 256-3026

4

1130 North Westcott Rd.  
Schenectady, NY 12306-2014 (518) 357-2355 (518) 357-2047 (518) 357-2355

(518) 357-2161
65561 State Hwy 10, Suite 1  
Stamford, NY 12167-9503 (607) 652-7367 — —

5

1115 Route 86, PO Box 296  
Ray Brook, NY 12977-0296 (518) 897-1291 (518) 897-1326 —

(518) 897-1303
232 Golf Course Rd. 
Warrensburg, NY 12885 (518) 623-1240 — (518) 623-1240

6

317 Washington St.  
Watertown, NY 13601-3787 (315) 785-2263 (315) 785-2231 (315) 785-2533

(315) 785-2263

225 North Main St. 
Herkimer NY 13350 (315) 866-6330 — —

190 Outer Main St, Suite 103  
Potsdam, NY 13676 (315) 265-3090 — —

17893 Game Farm Rd.  
Dexter, NY 13634 (315) 639-6122 — —

7

615 Erie Blvd. West 
Syracuse, NY 13204-2400 — (315) 426-7431 —

(607) 753-3095 
x.2231285 Fisher Ave.  

Cortland, NY 13045
(607) 753-3095 

ext. 247 — (607) 753-3095
ext. 242 or 247

8

6274 E. Avon-Lima Rd.  
Avon, NY 14414-9519 (585) 226-5380 (585) 226-6706 (585) 226-5463

(607) 622-8287
7291 Coon Rd.  
Bath, NY 14810-9728 (607) 776-2165 — —

9

700 Delaware Ave, 
Buffalo, NY 14209 (716) 851-7010 (716) 851-7050 —

(716) 372-0645
182 East Union St., Suite 3 
Allegany, NY 14706 (716) 372-0645 — (716) 372-0645
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DEC Regions

Other Important Numbers

DEC Automated Licensing 
System

1-866-933-2257 
M-F 8AM-5PM, 
Sat 9AM-5PM

Lifetime License Information (518) 402-8843

NYC Watershed Hunting 
Permits 1-800-575-5263

Hunter Ed 1-888-HUNT ED2 
(1-888-486-8332)

Deer Management Hotline 1-866-472-4332

Report Game Take via 
DECALS

1-866-GAME-RPT 
(1-866-426-3778)

Reporting Banded 
Waterfowl

www.reportband.gov 
1-866-933-2257

Migratory Bird Harvest  
Information Program (HIP)

decals.licensing.east.
kalkomey.com/

Information on NY SAFE Act 1-855-LAW-GUNS 
(1-855-529-4867)

Forest Rangers 1-833-NYS-RANGERS 
(1-833-697-7264)

Law Enforcement (ECOs) 1-844-DEC-ECOS 
(1-844-332-3267)

Important Numbers

2023–2024 New York Hunting & Trapping Guide6
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Message from the Commissioner

Game Harvest Reporting
Hunters are required to report the harvest of deer, bear, and turkey within 7 days of 
take. You may report your harvest using one of these methods:

•	 Online: www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/8316.html

•	 By phone: 1-866-GAME-RPT (1-866-426-3778). 

•	 Game Harvest Mobile App (see below for details).

Take it • Tag it • Report it
Harvest reporting is the LAW and necessary for wildlife management!

Report your Game Harvests via Mobile App!
DEC’s mobile app, HuntFishNY provides hunters with an e-license and game har-
vest reporting tool. Hunters now have a quick, user-friendly way to:

•	 gain instant, mobile access to an electronic version of sporting licenses and
privileges;

•	 report the harvest of deer, bear, and turkey on a smartphone immediately
while afield, even when out of cellular range; 

•	 view current and past harvest reports

•	 view PDFs of season maps and sunrise/sunset table

•	 access an electronic version of regulations guides

The HuntFishNY App can be downloaded from 
the Apple App store or Google Play store. 

NOTE: You will need a DEC Automated Licensing 
System (DECALS) user name and password in order 
to access your license documents through the app. 
If you have not yet created an online user name and 
password, visit www.dec.ny.gov/permits/6101.html 
today. Questions? Call our sporting license hotline at 
1-866-472-4332.

DID YOU KNOW? 
You may be fined up to $250 
for failing to report your deer, 
bear, or turkey take.

Subscribe to DEC Delivers to receive  
bi-weekly newsletters from DEC about 

wildlife biology, management, research, 
regulations, hunting and trapping.

RECEIVE INFORMATION ABOUT  

HUNTING AND TRAPPING  
IN NEW YORK STATE

Subscribe to DEC Delivers to receive
bi-weekly newsletters from DEC about 

wildlife biology, management, research, 
regulations, hunting and trapping. 

Subscribe now at www.dec.ny.gov

REPORT YOUR HARVEST 
1-866-426-3778 
HuntFishNY Mobile App 
www.dec.ny.gov

TAKE IT 
TAG IT 
REPORT IT 

REPORT YOUR HARVEST

TAKE IT
TAG IT

REPORT IT

It’s the LAW and necessary

for good game management.

1– 866– 426– 3778

HuntFishNY Mobile App

www.dec.ny.gov

New York is reaping the benefits of our shared efforts to ensure a safe hunting experience for all. The 
past two years have been the safest for New York hunters, and the 2022 hunting season tied 2021 for 
the lowest number of hunting-related shooting incidents since record keeping began. 

I am proud of the progress of New York’s hunter education instructors and the hunting community to 
make hunting safer than ever. Although even with this success, every incident is still too many, so please 
remain vigilant and continue to adhere to the hunting safety tenets: point your muzzle in a safe direction, 
treat every firearm as if it is loaded, keep your finger off the trigger until ready to shoot, be sure of your 
target and beyond, and always wear hunter orange or pink. 

Even though New York hunters have an excellent safety record, elevated hunting incidents, most often 
involving tree stands, are a growing concern. There is something you can do to prevent severe injuries 
if you fall from a tree stand or elevated platform — wear and properly use a fall-arrest system and stay 
connected from the time you leave the ground until you get back down to earth. Remember, a safety 
harness alone does not protect you if it isn’t attached to the tree the entire time you are off the ground. 

To hunt safely, be sure your fall-arrest system includes: 
1.	 A vest style full-body harness with shoulder, chest, and leg straps;
2.	 A strap that attaches to the tree when in the stand;
3.	 A tether strap that attaches the harness to the tree strap;
4.	 A “lifeline” to keep you safe while climbing and descending; and 
5.	 A suspension relief strap to be used in the event of a fall. 

If you hunt from a tree stand, wear a fall-arrest system, and encourage your friends and family who hunt from tree stands to do the same. 

Be safe. Be seen. And good luck this season.

Basil Seggos
Commissioner, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation

2023–2024 New York Hunting & Trapping Guide8
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The New York State Environmental Conservation Law (ECL) allows hunting with dogs 
throughout the state. Hunting dogs improve your chances of finding and recovering 
game, but the true advantage of having a hunting dog is having a companion in the 
field. The bond between hunter and dog is a friendship unlike any other — one that 
teaches patience, devotion, and allows for serenity in the outdoors. People who 
hunt with dogs are guided by several important rules and considerations: 

•	 Get permission of all landowners in the area you plan to hunt before heading afield.
•	 A hunter may not go on posted property, even to retrieve a dog, without land-

owner permission. 
•	 It is not lawful for a hunter to knowingly release a dog on posted lands.
•	 In general, dogs are not allowed to run “at large” on lands occupied by deer, but 

as long as a dog is being used to hunt small game species (this includes game
birds as well as raccoons, foxes, bobcats, and coyotes) during an open season
under the control of a licensed hunter, it is not considered at-large. 

•	 Some forms of hunting with dogs involve traveling long distances. In these cases, 
the dogs do not need to be within sight of the hunter, but hunters should avoid
releasing the dogs in areas where they may run onto private land on which you
do not have permission. Hunters may use radio tracking devices to help them
follow their dog. 

Hunters should remember that every time you go afield, you are an ambassador 
of the hunting community: 

•	 Respect our natural resources and be considerate of both the hunting and non-
hunting public by obeying all hunting laws and regulations. 

•	 Respect private property owners. Some species, like coyotes, foxes, and rac-
coons, can travel large distances when being pursued. Get permission from all
landowners in any area where your dogs may travel. 

•	 Be a good steward of the resource — information you provide through surveys
and harvest reporting is essential for sound game management.

Merganzer, Josh S.'s hunting companion sporting a hunter 
orange hat to remind others to hunt safe this season

A Primer on Hunting with Dogs

2023–2024 New York Hunting & Trapping Guide 9 
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Licenses, Privileges, and Permits

Type Age or Special Qualifier Price

Hunting (Ages 16+)
Privileges: Hunt small game species with gun, bow, or crossbow (see 
page 23). Hunt deer or bear with gun, muzzleloader, bow (with proof of 
bow education or a bow privilege), or crossbow (see page 23) during 
the regular season, or hunt with shotgun or muzzleloader during the Janu-
ary firearms season (permit required — see page 18) in Suffolk County 
(WMU 1C). You may hunt frogs with a valid hunting or fishing license.
Qualifications: Hunter Education Certificate OR previous hunting license. 
Certificates to possess firearms do not qualify.
Note: Those less than 18 years of age who are hunting big game for the first 
time as a holder of a hunting license must be accompanied for the entire 
season by a parent or legal guardian, or a person 18 years of age or older 
designated in writing (see permission form on page 37) with at least one 
year's experience hunting bear or deer. Accompanist must have a current 
hunting license and meet all requirements as specified on page 37. 

16–69 (NYS Resident) $22

70+ (NYS Resident) $5

Military Disabled1 $5

Patriot2 FREE

Indigenous Peoples3 FREE

16+ (Non-Resident) $100

Junior Hunting (Ages 12–15)
12–15 (NYS Resident) $5

12–15 (Non-Resident) $5

Privileges: 
•	 �Ages 12–13: Hunt small game species with gun or bow and deer with gun or crossbow during appropriate seasons

when accompanied* by a parent, legal guardian, or person 21 years of age or older with written permission from 
parent or guardian (see permission form on page 37). Check DEC's website (www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/46245.html) 
for a list of counties where 12- and 13-year-olds can hunt deer with a gun or crossbow and page 37 for details.) 

•	 �Ages 14–15: Hunt small game with gun, bow, or crossbow (see page 23) when accompanied* by a parent, legal
guardian or person 18 years of age or older with written permission from parent/guardian. Hunt deer or bear with 
a gun, bow (with proof of bow education or a bow privilege), or crossbow (see page 23) during the regular season,
or hunt with shotgun or muzzleloader during the January firearms season (permit required — see page 18) in Suf-
folk County, when accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or youth mentor 21 years of age or older designated 
in writing (see permission form on page 37).

* �Accompanist must have a current hunting license and meet all requirements as specified on page 37.
Qualifications: Hunter Education Certificate OR previous hunting license (certificates to possess firearms do not
qualify). Must be accompanied by parent/legal guardian to purchase. First-time applicants must show proof of age
(birth certificate or passport). Junior hunters do not need a Federal Duck Stamp, but are required to register in the 
NYS Harvest Information Program (www.dec.ny.gov/permits/6405.html) to hunt migratory game birds. 

Bowhunting Privilege (Ages 16+)
Privileges: Hunt deer and bear with a bow during bowhunting seasons. 
Qualifications: Current year NYS hunting license, PLUS acceptable Bow-
hunter Education Certificate, OR NYS Bowhunting Stamp issued in 1980 or 
later, OR NYS Junior Bowhunting License issued 1980 or later. 
Note: To hunt deer or bear with a bow during the regular season, hunter 
must possess both a valid hunting license and either a current bowhunt-
ing privilege or a valid Bowhunter Education Certificate. This includes 
Westchester and Suffolk counties. 

16–69 (NYS Resident) $15 

70+ (NYS Resident) FREE

Military Disabled1 FREE

Patriot2 $15 

Indigenous Peoples3 FREE

16+ (Non-Resident) $30 

Junior Bowhunting (Ages 12–15)
12–15 (NYS Resident) $4 

12–15 (Non-Resident) $4 

Privileges:
•	 �Ages 12–13: Hunt deer and bear with a bow during the bowhunting season or the regular season, or bear during 

the early bear season when accompanied* by a parent, legal guardian, or youth mentor 21 years or older and 
designated in writing (see permission form on page 37). Youth hunter will receive a deer of either sex carcass 
tag for use in the regular season, instead of a regular season buck tag.

•	 �Ages 14–15: Hunt deer and bear with a bow during the bowhunting season and the regular season when accom-
panied* by a parent, legal guardian or youth mentor 18 years of age or older designated in writing (see permission 
form on page 37). 

* �Accompanist must have a current hunting license and meet all requirements as specified on page 37. 
Qualifications: Current year NYS hunting license, PLUS acceptable Bowhunter Education OR previous Junior Bow-
hunting License. Must be accompanied by parent/legal guardian to purchase.

Muzzleloader Privilege (Ages 12+)
Privileges: Hunt deer (ages 12+) and bear (ages 14+) with a muzzleloading 
firearm during muzzleloading season, and the January special firearms 
season in Suffolk County (WMU 1C; ages 14+). Hunt deer (ages 12+) and 
bear (ages 14+) with a crossbow (see page 23).
Qualifications: Current year NYS hunting license. 

12–69 (NYS Resident) $15 

70+ (NYS Resident) FREE

Military Disabled1 FREE

Patriot2 $15 

Indigenous Peoples3 FREE

12+ (Non-Resident) $30 

Purchasing a License
Hunting, trapping, and fishing licenses can be 
purchased at over 1,200 agent locations through-
out New York State, over the phone via the DEC 
call center at 1-866-933-2257/M–F, 8AM–5PM, 
Sat. 9AM–5PM (extended hours Aug 1–Nov 30, 
M–F 7AM–7PM, Sat 9AM–5PM), and online 
through DEC’s Automated Licensing System 
(DECALS) at www.dec.ny.gov/permits/6101.html.

You can also locate a license issuing vendor 
from the DECALS website. All major credit cards 
are accepted online and over the phone. 

Mandatory Hunter 
Education
A hunter education course is required for persons 
who cannot provide proof that they have ever 
possessed a hunting license. You must be at least 
11 years of age to take this class. The general 
course is an in-person or online course offered by 
DEC and is a minimum of seven hours in length. 
Once the course is complete, the individual must 
have the DEC hunter education certificate added 
to their DEC licensing profile. This can be done 
anywhere licenses are sold or by calling 1-866-
933-2257. DEC honors hunter education certifi-
cates and sporting licenses from all other states 
and countries that meet IHEA-USA requirements.

Mandatory Bowhunter 
Education 
Hunters wishing to bowhunt for big game must 
present either: 
1.	 Proof that they successfully completed an 

approved bowhunter education course (in-
person or online). (Note: Approved courses 
are International Bowhunter Education Pro-
gram courses or an equivalent course. If in 
doubt, call toll free — 1-888-HUNT-ED2); OR

2.	 Proof that they previously held a New York 
State bowhunting license or stamp issued 
in 1980 or later; if proof is from prior to 1980, 
they must take an additional 7-hour minimum 
bowhunter education course.

Mandatory Crossbow 
Requirement
Hunters wishing to use a crossbow must com-
plete qualifications in the safe use of hunting 
with a crossbow and responsible crossbow 
hunting practices. See page 23 for details. 

Residency 
To qualify for an annual resident license, a per-
son must live in New York State for more than 30 
days immediately preceding the date of applica-
tion. To qualify for a Lifetime License, a person 
must live in New York State for at least one year 
immediately preceding the date of purchase. 
Land ownership in New York does not make 
you a resident. Residency is that place where a 

Continued on page 12

General License Information
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General License Information

Lifetime Sporting Licenses
The following Lifetime Licenses are available to New 
York State residents only and may be purchased at all 
license-issuing outlets throughout New York State. 
Applicants must prove NYS residency for one year prior 
to application (see Residency information on page 10). 
For additional information and clarification on Lifetime 
License sales, contact our License Sales Unit, NYSDEC, 
625 Broadway, Albany, NY 12233-4790, call 518-402-
8843, or visit www.dec.ny.gov/permits/6099.html. 
Lifetime License Holders should expect to receive their 
annual carcass tags in the mail no later than Sept. 1 
annually. License Issuing Agents will replace licenses 
and tags free of charge between Sept. 1 and Nov. 1. 
After Nov. 1, there will be a replacement charge up to 
$15. If you have a lifetime license card, you will only 
have to replace carcass tags at a fee of $10.

Lifetime License (Sportsman) 
(combined hunting and fishing licenses,  

includes turkey permits):

For a person age 0–4 $380

For a person age 5–11 $535

For a person age 12–69 $765

For a person age 70 or older $65

Other Lifetime Licenses/Privileges

Hunting License $535

Fishing License (age 0–69) $460

Fishing License (age 70 and older) $65

Trapping License $395

Bowhunting $235

Muzzleloading $235

Lifetime Licenses and 
Tags for Young Hunters
Young hunters who hold a lifetime 
hunting privilege and wish to receive 
their tags must first take the appropri-
ate hunter safety training course and 
have it entered in their DECALS profile. 
To have the course added, please call 
the DEC call center at 1-866-933-2257 
(M–F, 8AM–5PM). Young hunters 
should take the appropriate training 
course well in advance of the season to 
allow adequate time for their tags to be 
mailed. Tags cannot be obtained from a 
license-issuing agent. 

When purchasing a lifetime license for 
a child, the purchaser must bring proof 
of the child’s age (e.g., birth certificate 
or passport) and a copy of the parent’s 
proof of residency.

Remember to Report 
Your Game Harvest 
Visit www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/8316.html 
for details. It’s the law! 

See page 13.

Licenses, Privileges, and Permits

Type Age or Special Qualifier Price

Deer Management Permit Application (Ages 12+)
Privileges: Application for up to two antlerless deer tags issued through a 
random computer selection process. Tags are valid for hunting antlerless 
deer only (both antlers less than 3" long) in a specified Wildlife Manage-
ment Unit (WMU). See DMP information on pages 28–29. Application 
deadline is October 1 annually.
Qualifications: Must hold a current year NYS hunting license to apply 
and pay a non-refundable $10 application fee. Fee is waived for hunters 
12–15 years of age and holders of Lifetime (Sportsman) Licenses 
purchased prior to October 1, 2009.

12–15 (NYS Resident) FREE

16+ (NYS Resident) $10 

Military Disabled1 $10 

Patriot2 $10 

Indigenous Peoples3 $10 

12–15 (Non-Resident) FREE

16+ (Non-Resident) $10 

Turkey Permit (Ages 12+)
Privileges: Hunt turkey during fall and spring turkey seasons (see page 45). 
To hunt turkey, all hunters must possess a turkey permit. There are no 
exceptions.
Qualifications: Current year NYS hunting license. Turkey tags are included 
with a Lifetime License. 

12+ (NYS Resident) $10 

Military Disabled1 $10 

Patriot2 $10 

Indigenous Peoples3 $10 

12+ (Non-Resident) $20 

Trapping
Privileges: Set traps for species during their appropriate seasons (see 
page 59 for detailed information).
Qualifications: Trapper Education Certificate or previous trapping license. 
See page 37 for additional information on the mentoring program for 
trappers under 12 years of age.

12–15 (NYS Resident) $5 

16–69 (NYS Resident) $20 

70+ (NYS Resident) $5 

Military Disabled1 $5 

Patriot2 FREE

Indigenous Peoples3 FREE

12–15 (Non-Resident) $5 

16+ (Non-Resident) $275 

1 �Military Disabled: Must be a NYS resident and provide a letter from the Department of Veterans Affairs showing 
a 40% or greater service-connected disability. Once the disability is confirmed and entered, it will stay in your cus-
tomer profile. Note: The first purchase of either a hunting, fishing, or trapping license within a calendar year will cost 
$5. Subsequent purchases of these license types within the same calendar year will be free for qualifying customers.

2�Patriot: Free hunting, fishing, and trapping licenses are available to NYS residents who have the appropriate hunting 
or trapping education and are active members of the NYS National Guard, US Reserve Forces, or certain members of 
the US Armed Forces. For more detailed information, visit our website or call 518-402-8843.

3�Indigenous Peoples: Recognizing the sovereignty of Indigenous Nations and their governments, tribal members 
do not need a hunting, fishing, or trapping license from DEC when engaged in these activities on Nation territory. 
Members of the Shinnecock and Unkechaug Nations, and members of the Haudenosaunee Nations enrolled on 
reservations wholly or partially in New York State may hunt, fish, and trap off of tribal lands using their tribal identi-
fication card or by obtaining a free hunting, fishing, and trapping license from DEC. Licenses can be obtained from 
participating tribal and nation councils or DEC headquarters in Albany 518-402-8843.

Deer Hunting 
Privileges and Tags 
Resident and non-resident 
hunter licenses
•	 Hunting or Junior Hunting (ages 12–15):

Hunters ages 12 and older will receive a Regu-
lar Season Deer Tag and hunters ages 14 and
older will receive a Regular Season Deer Tag 
and Regular Season Bear Tag. 

•	 Muzzleloading privilege: You will receive a
Bow/Mz Season Either Sex Tag. 

•	 Junior bowhunting or bowhunting privilege: 
You will receive a Bow/Mz Season Either
Sex Tag. Junior bowhunters ages 12–13 will

receive an Either Sex Tag and a Bear Tag. 
Junior bowhunters ages 14–15 will receive an 
Either Sex Tag. Junior bowhunters may use 
the Either Sex Deer Tag during the regular 
season, with bowhunting equipment.

Residents and non-residents must purchase 
a hunting license to be eligible for bowhunt-
ing and muzzleloading privileges. If you pur-
chase both bowhunting and muzzleloading 
privileges, you will receive one Bow/Mz Either 
Sex Deer Tag and one Bow/Mz Antlerless Deer 
Tag. Both tags may be used in either season, 
with the appropriate implement.
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$10. There is no charge to replace a lost backtag. 

Special Licenses 
for Hunters with 
Disabilities 
Non-ambulatory hunter permit 
This permit allows qualified hunters to shoot 
a firearm from a motorized vehicle (including 
an off-road vehicle) that has the motor turned 
off and that is completely off the highway 
right-of-way. 

To qualify for a Non-Ambulatory Hunter Per-
mit, a person must be physically unable to move 
about except with the use of a mechanized aid 
such as a wheelchair. 

Modified longbow authorization
This authorization allows qualified people to 
hunt big or small game with a legal bow that 
is equipped with a device to hold it in a drawn 
and cocked position. It does not allow for the 
use of a crossbow. 

To qualify for a Modified Longbow Authoriza-
tion, a person must be permanently physically 
unable to draw and hold a legal bow. 

Modified crossbow permit 
This permit allows qualified people to hunt big 
or small game during bowhunting season with 
a crossbow that has been specifically modified 
with a device that only allows it to be discharged 
(fired) by means of a breath tube. This permit 
does not allow the use of an unmodified cross-
bow in place of a bow for the entire bow season. 

To qualify for a Modified Crossbow Permit, a 
person must be permanently physically unable 
to hold or draw a legal bow or to fire a legal 
bow that has been modified to hold and release 
the string. 

If a person can pull the trigger on a gun, he 
or she will not qualify for a Modified Crossbow 
Permit. 

For more information on these permits, write the 
NYS DEC Special Licenses Unit, 625 Broadway, 
Albany, NY 12233-4752, email speciallicenses@
dec.ny.gov or call 518-402-8985. The applica-
tion process takes time; write or call well before 
you intend to hunt. 

•	 Do NOT heat laminate your license. High tem-
peratures will destroy the license and tags and 
turn them black. If destroyed, there is a fee
for replacement.

•	 Sign the back of your license/privilege panel.

Back Tags 
Must be visibly displayed on the middle of your 
back while hunting, except in the Northern Zone 
and Catskill Park. 

Hunting License 
Exceptions 
All residents must have a valid hunting license 
in their possession except:
•	 Resident owners primarily engaged in farm-

ing, lessees, and members of their immediate 
families do not need a hunting license when
hunting small game on farmlands they are
occupying and cultivating. 

•	 Native Americans living on a reservation do
not need a hunting license while hunting on
reservation lands. 

Free Licenses/
Patriot Licenses 
Free hunting, fishing, and trapping licenses are 
available to members of the Shinnecock and 
Unkechaug Nations and members of the Six 
Nations residing on reservations in the state. 
They must be obtained from some Nations coun-
cils or by calling DEC headquarters in Albany 
518-402-8843.

Free hunting, fishing, and trapping licenses
are also available to NYS residents who have 
the appropriate hunter education and are active 
service members of the NYS Guard, US Reserve 
Forces or certain members of the US Armed 
Forces. For more detailed information, visit our 
website or call 518-402-8843. 

Lost Licenses
A lost current-year license may be replaced at 
any license-issuing outlet at a cost of $5 for a 
license panel. Big game carcass tag sets or tur-
key carcass tag sets may be replaced at a cost of 

person maintains a fixed, permanent and prin-
cipal home (regardless of where temporarily 
located), such as where a person is registered 
to vote. If under 18, the residence of parents or 
legal guardian shall be deemed such person’s 
residence. For a complete list of valid residency 
proof documents please see www.dec.ny.gov/
permits/95452.html#Res. 

Active members of the U.S. Armed Forces 
stationed in New York and full-time college 
students in residence in the state during the 
school year (proof required) qualify for annual 
resident licenses. 

Minimum Hunting Age 
Minors under the age of 12 may not obtain a 
hunting license or hunt wildlife. 

License Year 
Licenses and permits are valid from September 1 
through August 31.

License Responsibilities 
•	 A license or tag is not transferable and may

be used only by the person to whom it was
issued (except for Deer Management Permits 
(DMPs)—see pages 28–29). 

•	 It is illegal to possess another person's license 
while hunting. 

•	 A license to hunt, trap, or fish does not give
the holder any right to go on private property 
without permission of the landowner. 

•	 You can legally purchase and possess only
one hunting license per year. 

•	 Your license must be carried on your person
when hunting or trapping.

•	 It is illegal to refuse to show your license on
demand to a law enforcement officer or the
owner, lessee, or person in control of the lands 
(or their designees) while on their property. 

•	 Make sure that your license has all the correct 
information. Carefully check it immediately
after receipt. If you discover an error, have it
corrected as soon as possible. 

General License Information

Stamps / Donations
Type Age or Special Qualifier Price

Habitat & Access Stamp
Donations are used to create or improve fish and wildlife habitat and 
improve access to those resources for recreational or educational activities.

Any $5

Venison Donation
Help feed the hungry by supporting NY's venison donation program. Any $1 or more

Federal Duck Stamp
Available at most post offices and some sporting goods stores. 16+ $25

Privileges: Hunt migratory waterfowl. It is not needed for gallinules, coot, crows, rails, woodcock, or snipe. All migra-
tory game bird hunters, including junior hunters, must register with the Harvest Information Program by calling toll 
free 1-866-933-2257 or www.dec.ny.gov/permits/6405.html.
Qualifications: Validated by holder’s signature on the face of the stamp. Hunter must also possess a current-year 
NYS hunting license.

Residency continued from page 10

Annie A. with wirehaired pointing griffon, 
showing off her successful hunt.
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Fill out both sides immediately upon harvest
Issued 08/14/2023 12:26 PM 

Reg Season Deer Tag

Pete Moss 08/02/1989 
ID: 999999999999

Doc# 23-03-12345678 2023-24

 Date     _____________________

 County _____________________

CCaaiirroo Town   _____________________  
K

ill
 I

n
fo

¨ Muzzleloading

   Antler Pts L ___R___

Sex          M         F¨  ¨

Reg Season

¨ Bowhunting

¨

1111--2277--2233
GGrreeeennee

44HH  

X
X 3 3

  WMU         _____________________
¨ Youth

How To Properly Fill Out Your Carcass Tag and Report Your Harvest

Remember: Take It • Tag It • Report It

Jane Doe

Hole for attaching  
to your game

Use pen or permanent marker.
Flip tag over

It is against the law to 
improperly or incompletely 
fill out your carcass tag. 

It's as Easy as 1 - 2 - 3!
1.	 Fill in the date, location, biologi-

cal, and season information on 
the front of your tag.

2.	 Mark or cut out month and day 
of kill AND sign the back of your 
tag.

3.	 Report your harvest! See details 
below.

1

2

2

1

2

3

General License Information

Reporting Your Game Harvest
•	 Deer, Bear, and Turkey harvests must be

reported within 7 days of take.

•	 You can report your harvest by phone, online, or
through our HuntFishNY mobile app (see page 
8 for details).

•	 Reporting online and through the mobile app is 
simple, fast, and convenient!

•	 Visit www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/8316.html.

Fill out both sides immediately upon harvest
Issued 08/14/2023 12:26 PM 

Reg Season Deer Tag

Pete Moss 08/02/1989 
ID: 999999999999

Doc# 23-03-12345678 2023-24

 Date     _____________________

 County _____________________

CCaaiirroo Town   _____________________  
K

ill
 I
n
fo

¨ Muzzleloading

   Antler Pts L ___R___

Sex          M         F¨  ¨

Reg Season

¨ Bowhunting

¨

1111--2277--2233
GGrreeeennee

44HH  

X
X 3 3

  WMU         _____________________
¨ Youth

ID# 314114431020
You must call to report your deer, turkey or 
bear within 7 days of take.
To report Call Toll-free : 1-866-426-3778(GAMERPT)
or visit www.dec.ny.gov    Date of Kill    Reported

  Valid
Jane Doe 09/01/2023

08/31/2024

23-04-12345678 _______

23-03-87654321 _______ 
23-02-12345689 _______

DMP Deer Tag-4H 

Reg Season Deer 

Bear Tag

_

1111--2277--2233 XX

CORRECT TAG TYPE

12 DIGIT DOC #

CUSTOMER ID #

•	 For Spring Turkey:

	» Spur length (none, less than ½",
½" or longer)

	» Beard length (less than 3", 3"or 
greater but less than 7½", or 7½" or
longer.

	» Estimated weight

•	 For Fall Turkey:

	» Remember to save a leg. We will 
request it to determine age and sex.

Information You Will Need When Reporting

Remember to save the bear’s skull so DEC can collect a tooth to age the bear. 

3

REPORT YOUR HARVEST 
1-866-426-3778 
HuntFishNY Mobile App 
www.dec.ny.gov

TAKE IT 
TAG IT 
REPORT IT 

REPORT YOUR HARVEST

TAKE IT
TAG IT

REPORT IT

It’s the LAW and necessary

for good game management.

1– 866– 426– 3778

HuntFishNY Mobile App

www.dec.ny.gov

Call 1-844-332-3267 and turn in  
poachers and polluters 

Report Poachers and Polluters 
Call an Environmental 

Conservation Officer at  
1-844-DEC-ECOS 

If you SEE something, SAY something 

Prime Hunting Land for Sale

Lots Bordering State Lands Available
Waterfront Properties Available

Custom Built/Portable/Modular Cabins
Financing Available

ALWAYS PURCHASING LAND & CAMPS
GatewayProperties@frontiernet.net

1-877-NY-LANDS (315) 831-8778 1-877-695-2637
www.GatewayPropertiesOfUpstateNY.com

Prime Hunting Land for Sale

Lots Bordering State Lands Available
Waterfront Properties Available

Custom Built/Portable/Modular Cabins
Financing Available

ALWAYS PURCHASING LAND & CAMPS
GatewayProperties@frontiernet.net

1-877-NY-LANDS (315) 831-8778 1-877-695-2637
www.GatewayPropertiesOfUpstateNY.com

2023–2024 New York Hunting & Trapping Guide 13

http://www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/8316.html
http://dec.ny.gov
http://gatewaypropertiesofupstateny.com


owner or lessee (when looking for deer or bear) 
•	 While in or on a motor vehicle and operating

a light and no person has a firearm, bow, or
crossbow, or if:

	» the implement is taken down, or
	» the implement is securely fastened in a
case, or 

	» the implement is locked in the trunk of the
vehicle, or 

	» the implement is a handgun 

For information on hunting furbearers at night, 
see page 58. 

Possession of Firearms 
and Crossbows
During the open season for deer, it is illegal to:
•	 Possess shotgun shells loaded with slug or

ball, unless holding a valid license (including 
carcass tags) or permit to take deer or bear, or

•	 Possess a rifle larger than a .22-caliber rimfire 
in areas where rifles are banned for taking
deer. A rifle larger than .22-caliber rimfire
means a rifle chambered for a rimfire cartridge 
greater than .22-caliber or any centerfire rifle. 
Centerfire rifles less than .22-caliber and muz-
zleloading rifles are legal.

In Westchester County and on Long Island, it is 
illegal to use any rifle for hunting or to carry one 
afield. In Suffolk, Nassau, and Westchester coun-
ties, it is illegal to use a crossbow to hunt wildlife.

In the Northern Zone, it is illegal to carry a 
rifle larger than .22 rimfire or a shotgun loaded 
with slug, ball, or buckshot afield if accompanied 
by a dog, except when coyote hunting. 

Possession of handguns in New York 
requires a NYS Pistol Permit. New York does 
not recognize permits issued by other states.

New York State recently adopted legislation 
governing the purchase or transfer of ownership 
of semi-automatic rifles. Go to www.dec.ny.gov 
or https://safeact.ny.gov/resources-hunters for 
more information. 

Transportation 
of Firearms 
A person may not transport or possess a shotgun, 
rifle or crossbow in or on a motor vehicle unless 
the firearm is unloaded in both chamber and mag-
azine or the crossbow is taken down or unloaded 
(bolt removed and crossbow uncocked).

A muzzleloader is considered unloaded 
when the cap is off the nipple, the primer is 
removed, the primer powder is removed from 
the flintlock pan, or the battery is removed from 
an electric-fired muzzleloader. 

To take—means to pursue, shoot, hunt, kill, cap-
ture, trap, snare, or net wildlife and game—and 
all lesser acts that disturb or worry wildlife—or to 
place or use any net or other device commonly 
used to take wildlife. 

To trap—means to take, kill, or capture wildlife 
with traps, deadfalls, and other devices com-
monly used to take wildlife, including the shoot-
ing or killing of lawfully trapped animals. It also 
includes all related activities such as placing, 
setting, staking, or checking traps, or assisting 
another person with these activities. 

Manner of Taking 
It is illegal to take or hunt wildlife:
•	 While in or on a motor vehicle (except by spe-

cial permit—see page 12) 
•	 With the aid of a vehicle’s lights
•	 On or from any public road
•	 With any firearm equipped with a silencer 
•	 With any firearm which continues to fire as long

as the trigger is held back (an automatic firearm) 
•	 With any semi-automatic firearm with a capac-

ity to hold more than 6 rounds, except:
1.	 Firearms using .22 or .17 caliber rimfire 

ammunition, or
2.	Firearms altered to reduce their capacity 

to no more than 6 shells at one time in 
the magazine and chamber combined, or

3.	Autoloading pistols with a barrel length 
of less than 8 inches 

•	 With a spear 
•	 With a bow equipped with any mechanical

device which is attached to the bow (other
than the bowstring) for drawing, holding, or
releasing the bowstring except for a person
with a physical disability in possession of a
Modified Longbow Authorization (compound 
bows are legal) 

•	 With a spear gun or modified crossbow except
for a person with a physical disability in pos-
session of a Modified Crossbow Permit 

•	 With an arrow with an explosive head or shaft
•	 With any device designed or intended to

deliver drugs to an animal

Baiting—It is illegal to hunt with the aid of bait 
or over any baited area when hunting big game, 
upland game birds, turkey, or waterfowl. 

Fish—Crossbows may not be used to take carp 
or any other fish. 

Spotlighting 
You may use lights to observe wildlife under the 
following conditions:
•	 You are not within 500 feet of a home or farm 

building, unless you have permission from the 

The following are general hunting regulations. 
Specific regulations for various game species 
are in the Small Game, Big Game, and Trapping 
sections of this booklet. 

Definitions 
Air gun—a firearm that uses spring or com-
pressed air (not gunpowder) to propel a single 
projectile that is .17 caliber or larger and pro-
duces a muzzle velocity of at least 600 feet per 
second. You may use a smooth or rifled bore. 

Bow—includes long (stick), compound, or 
recurve bow.

Crossbow—consists of a bow, a string, and 
either compound or recurve limbs with a mini-
mum width of 17 inches (tip of limbs, uncocked), 
mounted on a stock. The stock shall have a trig-
ger with a working safety that holds the string 
and limbs under tension until released. It shall 
have a minimum overall length from the butt of 
the stock to the front of the limbs of 24 inches 
and be able to launch a minimum 14-inch arrow/
bolt, not including the legal arrowhead. It shall 
have a draw weight of 100 to 200 pounds. Opti-
cal sights are allowed on crossbows.

Firearm—all guns, including handguns, rifles, 
shotguns, muzzleloaders, BB, and pellet guns. 

Handgun—is any pistol or revolver intended to 
be aimed and fired with one hand and having a 
barrel length not exceeding 16 inches. Posses-
sion of handguns in New York State requires a 
NYS Pistol Permit. New York does not recognize 
permits issued by other states.

Muzzleloading firearm—is a firearm loaded 
through the muzzle, shooting a single projectile 
and having a minimum bore of .44 inch. Scopes 
or fiber-optic sights may be used at any time. 
You must possess a New York State Pistol Permit 
to hunt with a muzzleloading pistol.

Rifle—is a firearm with a barrel length of 16 
inches or more with rifling in the barrel that uses 
metallic cartridges. 

Shotgun—is a firearm with a barrel length of 18 
inches or more that uses shells that are non-
metallic except for the base. 

Motor vehicle—means every vehicle or device 
operated by any power other than muscle power 
including but not limited to automobiles, trucks, 
motorcycles, tractors, trailers, motorboats, 
snowmobiles, and all-terrain vehicles, whether 
operated on or off public highways. 

Public highway—means any road maintained 
by a state, county, or town. A private road is one 
maintained by a person or corporation. 

To hunt—means to pursue, shoot, kill, or capture 
(other than trap) wildlife and includes all lesser 
acts that disturb or worry wildlife, whether or not 
they result in taking. Hunting also includes all 
acts to assist another person in taking wildlife. 

General Hunting Regulations

Be Safe — Be Seen
•	 Assume every gun to be loaded.

•	 Control the muzzle, point in a
safe direction.

•	 Keep finger off the trigger until firing.

•	 Be sure of your target and beyond.

•	 Wear hunter orange or pink.
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A crossbow is considered unloaded when 
the arrow/bolt is removed and the crossbow 
is uncocked. While legally hunting migratory 
game birds, a loaded firearm may be possessed 
in a motorboat not under power or in a motor-
boat under power only while retrieving dead/ 
crippled birds.

Whenever a gun is in a vehicle and an adult 
is not present, the gun must be locked in a 
plastic or metal, hard-sided case or safe and 
be hidden from view. See www.dec.ny.gov/
outdoor/hunting.html for more details about 
gun transportation. 

Discharge of Firearms, 
Crossbows, and Bows 
It is illegal to discharge a firearm, crossbow, or bow:
•	 So that the load or arrow/bolt passes over any 

part of a public highway 
•	 Within 500 feet for a firearm, 250 feet for a

crossbow, or 150 feet for a bow of any school, 
playground, or an occupied factory or church 

•	 Within 500 feet for a firearm, 250 feet for a
crossbow, or 150 feet for a bow of a dwelling, 
farm building, or structure in occupation or
use unless you own it, lease it, are an imme-
diate member of the family, an employee, or
have the owner’s consent 

You may hunt waterfowl over water within 500 
feet of a dwelling or public structure as long as 

General Hunting Regulations

Hunter Education
Hunter Education Program Requirements
All first-time hunters, bowhunters, and trappers must pass one or more courses before they can purchase a license. 
Traditionally, hunter, bowhunter, and trapper education have been in-person courses taught by trained volunteer 
instructors certified by DEC. In 2020, DEC began offering an online hunter education course and an online bowhunter 
education course. Be sure to check the DEC website about the availability of both in-person and online courses. 
In-Person Hunter Education Program Courses
In-person courses have a field day where new hunters and trappers can get hands-on experience. All in-person 
courses are free of charge, but space may be limited. As hunting and trapping seasons approach, classes fill quickly. 
SIGN UP EARLY! All in-person hunter, bowhunter, and trapper education courses require the completion of home-
work prior to attending the course. Proof of completed homework must be brought to the course. Homework may 
take several hours to complete, so start it well in advance.

Visit www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/92267.html for more information on materials, including a list of courses and 
course registration.
Online Hunter Education Program Courses
All the requirements to earn a New York State hunter education certificate or a New York State bowhunter education 
certificate can be met by completing DEC’s online courses and passing the exams. Upon passing, you will receive 
your certificate so you can purchase a hunting license or a bowhunter education certificate that enables you to 
purchase a bowhunting privilege. An online trapper education course may be available in 2023. 

There is a fee and you must be a New York State resident to take the online courses. They can be accessed at 
www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/92267.html.

neither are within 500 feet in the direction you 
are shooting. 

Protected and 
Unprotected Wildlife 
In New York State, nearly all species of wildlife 
are protected. Most species, including endan-
gered species, songbirds, hawks, and owls 
are fully protected and may not be taken. The 
few unprotected species include porcupine, 

red squirrel, woodchuck, chipmunk, English 
sparrow, starling, rock pigeon, and monk para-
keet. Unprotected species may be taken at any 
time without limit. However, a hunting license 
is required to hunt unprotected wildlife with a 
bow, crossbow, or firearm. 

Game species may be taken only during their 
open seasons and as summarized in this guide. 
Persons taking wildlife on licensed shooting pre-
serves must comply with regulations governing 
those shooting preserves. 
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